Dixon Fire Department Selects Brady Hartinger as Firefighter of the Year

The members of the Dixon Fire Department have selected Firefighter/Paramedic Brady Hartinger as the 2022 Firefighter of the Year.    

In Dixon, this honor is bestowed upon a member who is nominated and then selected by a cross section of the department who make up the awards committee.  There were multiple submissions that recognized Brady for his attitude, passion, pride, dedication, and willingness to learn.  

Brady has been with the Dixon Fire Department for 5 years. He began his career with the Department in 2018 as a Reserve Firefighter, and in 2020 was hired in a permanent Firefighter position while he was completing Paramedic School. In 2021, Brady obtained his Paramedic license and became a Firefighter/Paramedic for Dixon Fire. Brady resides in Benicia with his wife Brittany. They are expecting their first child this Spring.

Brady’s passion for his job, the Department, and his fellow firefighters shows in everything he does. He is respected and well-liked, and always a team player. It is an honor to have a dedicated, motivated, passionate and professional Firefighter/Paramedic like Brady Hartinger serving as a member of the Dixon Fire Department. Hartinger supports IT related projects at the Fire Department and is constantly working to bring emerging technologies to our department. He is the current President of the Dixon Professional Firefighter’s Association. In this capacity, he has worked collaboratively with management to build a strong labor/ management relationship. 

In addition to Firefighter of the Year, the following individuals were recognized: 

  • Reserve Firefighter Chris Wilson received the Allan Benefield Award for the most participation by a volunteer.
  • Commendations of Superior Effort were presented to:  Captain John Jurado, Engineer Markus Lincoln, Firefighter/Paramedic James Perry, and Firefighter/Paramedic Wolfgang Riedel.
  • Commendation of Outstanding Effort was presented to Firefighter/Paramedic Ryan Murphy.
  • Field Save recognition was presented to: Captain/Paramedic Fields, Captain/Paramedic Glankler, Firefighter/Paramedic Hartinger, Engineer/Paramedic Hemje, Engineer Lincoln, Firefighter Norberg, Engineer Raycraft, Firefighter/Paramedic Riedel, Firefighter/Paramedic Rodarte, Captain Smotherman, and Engineer/Paramedic Tomelloso

Fire Department employees were also honored for reaching years of service milestones.  

Reaching 25 years of service:

  • Andi Horigan

Reaching 15 years of service:

  • Matt Fields

Reaching 5 years of service:

  • Grant Haynie
  • Taylor McAbee
  • Wolfgang Riedel

More: Current News Press Releases